How I Used TikTok to Build Outfits

Phone with TikTok logo

Every time I scroll through TikTok I see super cool outfits. Mostly they are my age, but some of these people are teens! How are teens dressed better than me!? Seriously did they take lessons?

Turns out, yeah, some of them did.

One user shared how in modelling school they taught her to count her outfits. Each article of clothing gets a rating of one or two. One if they are basic cuts and solid colours, and two for more interesting cuts and patterns. The goal is to land anywhere between six and eight. Here’s the first video she made about the trick.

Today is laundry day and a lot of those staple pieces I bought are in the wash, but I wanted to give the eight point plan a try.

I started with a basic green skirt and a patterned skull t-shirt — a three altogether. The shirt has some dark greens that match the shirt but it also has some burgundy in there, so I threw on some burgundy tights — a solid colour and a basic piece makes it a one. This is probably where I would have stopped any other day. Maybe even without the tights. But I was determined to get somewhere near eight so I needed more.

I had a couple bracelets kicking around so I put those on. Which made me realize I probably need to invest in some jewelry because one bracelet was a Christmas gift from around 15 years ago and the other was handed to me during a pride parade. Regardless, since I wore more than one they have a combined score of two.

Then I added some classic Vans and figured they get one point.

And that all brings me to seven! If I were to go out anywhere I could add a simple jacket and still be within the plan, or I could throw on something a bit funkier and button it up.

I honestly had a lot of fun with this one and recommend you try it with your own wardrobe! If you end up with something you really like, share it with the world using #8pointplan on instagram or twitter!

And of course I have to share where I got some of these pieces. Both were under $20 so this outfit was a steal.

Skull t-shirt

O-ring skirt (They don’t have green anymore but there are other options)

The shoes you can get at pretty much any skate shop or shoe store that carry Vans.

Happy counting!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started